Previous Ohio Section

Newsletter Winners


The Ohio Section Newsletter contest is the longest running contest of its kind in the country. It started in 1992 when then Pubilc Information Coordinator (PIC) Joe Phillips, K8QOE decided that we needed to have a contest to find the "Best of the Best" in newsletters in the Ohio Section.


Joe's idea wasn't the first. In 1992 there were a number of contests such as this one going on all over the country. Joe, however wanted the Ohio Section's contest to be different. He didn't want it to be just a contest of winners and losers, he wanted to do this in order to improve the quality of the newsletters. He was often heard saying that there were no "winners' or "losers" because each newsletter was really a winner in that it informed its readership of happenings in the Amateur Radio world.


Joe was by profession a reporter. He wrote regular columns for a number of major newspapers around Ohio and Indiana. He also had a television show as well.


Joe created an actual formula for grading newsletters. Before this it was just left up to a judge to determine if he liked it or not. Now with Joe's formula there is a better standard for judging newsletters on a consistent basis, and has been modeled by a number of Sections and even several Divisions as well. It has become the "base-line standard" for judging newsletters.


The Ohio Section is extremely proud of the fact that we have this contest as that it has only made the newsletters in the Ohio Section the "Best" written newsletters in the country.


Past Newsletter Winners

1992 1993 1994 1995
The Patch Signal Report Q-Fiver Central Ohio ARES
1996 1997 1998 1999
The Mike & Key RF-Carrier The Radiogram The Hamchatter
2000 2001 2002 2003
The Zero Beat The Portage Amateur Radio Club The Wobbly Oscillaror The Pioneer Radiator 
2004 2005 2006 2007
The Spirit of '76 & '88 The 20/9 Radio Club The Buckeye Burr HF Chronicles 
2008 2009 2010 2011
News Unwired NOARS Log DELARA News No Contest this year
2012 2013 2014 2015
The Radiogram / PCARS The Radiogram/ PCARS The Mike & Key DELARA News
2016 2017 2018 2019

The Mike & Key

The Radiogram/ PCARS

The Radiogram/ PCARS

The Radiogram/ PCARS

2020 2021 2022 2023
The Zero Beat TThe Radiogram / PCARS Q-Fiver The Radiogram / PCARS
2024 2025 2026 2027