For ARES Membership we now have a Two-Tier system


Tier II membership into ARES will be designated for general membership. Tier II operators will be encouraged to participate in public service events, work projects with equipment and stations, and do the type of work ARES members have done for years. Tier II members will NOT be activated for service during emergencies that involves operation in EOC’s, or for partner agencies who require the FEMA certification. In the event that additional manpower may be needed (The Big One) they, like spontaneous volunteer amateur operators outside ARES, may be assigned to secondary tasks. While ALL time invested by our volunteers is valuable, Tier II operators will be at the “Entry Level” of ARES in Ohio.

Tier I operators in ARES will be those who have completed the four FEMA courses, having certificates on file with both their county EC and the Ohio ARES Training Database. These are the prime operators who will be activated when requested by our partner emergency agencies such as the EMA. We hope to create incentives to entice Tier II operators to upgrade within the ARES system. It will be the duty of each county EC to maintain a roster defining the capabilities of each member, and to maintain an activation system for Tier I members. EC/DEC's are required to be Tier I, AEC’s are strongly suggested to be Tier I operators.

So, we will be strongly encouraging the Tier II members to “upgrade” so that they can have all the benefits as a Tier I member does, being able to register with “Ohio Responds” database for liability protection under the state. FEMA courses are already a requirement for that, and it’s a great benefit that we hope we’ll never need.



Want to Sign-Up to become an Ohio ARES Member?

>> Click Here <<




Questions About Training?


The Ohio Section has been involved with numerous FEMA exercises that have required all participants to be FEMA trained and certified. These certifications are the backbone to the Incident Command Structure (ICS) that is used in today's emergencies. They explain the relationship between ICS and the National Incident Management System (NIMS).  As such, we are requiring that if you want to be a full functioning Ohio ARES member, you must have the basic ICS training completed. These folks will be classified as a

Tier I members.


We recognize that not everyone has the willingness to go through this training. So, I do want to emphasize that we do have a Tier II membership that always welcomes those participants to come to any of the meetings and participate in any function that does not have ICS requirements attached to it. But, we will strongly encourage you to "Step Up" to the challenge, and become a full functioning Tier I member.




Question?  What FEMA training is required to participate in most government run functions ?

Answer.  Volunteers need to be trained and certified in IS-100b, IS-200b, IS-700a and IS-800b at a minimum.


Question?  What if I cannot find some, any, or all of my FEMA Training Certificates that I had acquired previously?

Answer.  This is actually a three step process. 

Question?  How do I get started in getting these courses?

Answer. Here's a link to get you on your way. Go to :


Question?  Are there other courses that you would recommend that I take if I want to go deeper into my traing?


Answer.  YES.  The NIMS / ICS Courses are numerous, and they can benefit you greatly if you want to expand your training. I would recommend, IS 706 & 802. These 2 additional courses were required of us for the RNC. Both of these courses are on-line and easily taken at your leasure.


If you have the time, take IS-300/400. These 2 courses are a combined 3-1/2 day "in class" training that go hand-in-hand in the Incident Command management structure, and that will be of great benefit to you, and your EMA Director during emergency situations. 


Question? Are there any benefits to becoming a Tier I member?


Answer.  YES. As a Tier I member you will be able to sign-up for Ohio Responds. This is the State of Ohio's Liability Insurance program that only Tier I members can have. It gives you the protection under the State of Ohio and it is not just the "Good Samaritan" law. 


Tier I members are also able to get credentialed through the State of Ohio - CIMS, when there's an emergency response that we would be activated for. This gets you into those areas that wouldn't be accessible to just anyone in an emergency situation.  



Please send your training documentation (preferably via email) to Scott Yonally, N8SY@N8SY.COM


If you have access only to hard copies, please have a copy of them made (Do Not Send Originals) and mail the copies to Scott at:


258 Valley Hi Drive

Lexington, OH 44904